A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: How do I make "MACROMEDIA.COM" navigation bar?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6

    How do I make "MACROMEDIA.COM" navigation bar?

    Hey all !

    Do you have any idea how could I make a navigation bar like in "MACROMEDIA.COM" website, I mean - how do I do it?

    I hope you could help me.

    Warm regards,
    YoS.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    Yes, I have idea how you can make that navigation bar: - with your brain and hands, and using knowledge of ActionSript.
    We could help you if we knew what part of work is difficult for you. Otherwise "help me" means "make for me".
    Can you show what you've already made?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6

    Sorry for being so General

    Sorry, what I ment is -
    How could I make a button that when you hover on it, it will reveal other "sub-buttons" and will keep showing them until you will hover above a different "main button" - the same scenery that you see on "macromedia.com" website - that's what I ment...

    Hope you could answer me now,
    Regards,
    YoS.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    14,141
    I would make a "sub-buttons" movieclip with its content (the sub-links) on frame 2. On rollOver of the main button i would send that "sub-buttons" movieclip to frame2 and back to frame1 onRollOut of the "sub-buttons".
    gparis

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Yeah! But what's interesting in the Macromedia navigation, is the delay on the sub-menu disappearing only after some time, if you hover quickly over the main buttons. Never seen someone come up with such a script yet!... Maybe a Xmas challenge for an actionscript specialist?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    It's just a draft.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    But still no delay!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    I don't know about you, but I can see delay.
    So I'll wait for gparis', sunshineyos and others judgment.
    And I know for sure that you would not make anything similar ever.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well we're either not talking about the same delay, or your's is much shorther. I'm talking about the delay in the appearance of the submenu when you go from one main item button to another, not the delay it the disappearing of the submenu after you've moused off a main item button...

    Amazing what those decompilers will bring up hey!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    brooklyn. NY
    Posts
    81
    I am useing the following script on a MC

    action script:

    onClipEvent(load){
    //is the cursor over the movie clip
    previouslyOver=false;
    }
    onClipEvent(enterFrame){
    currentlyOver=this.hitTest(_root._xmouse,_root._ym ouse,true);
    //if there is a change, go to another frame
    if(!previouslyOver and currentlyOver){
    previouslyOver=true;
    this.gotoAndPlay("on");
    //when the sub menu apaer
    } else if (previouslyOver and !currentlyOver){
    previouslyOver=false;
    this.gotoAndPlay("out");
    //when the animation of the submenu fade out
    }
    }





    you can see two example of how to minipulate the animation in the following links
    http://under-constructions.info/
    http://www.whiteboxny.org/democracyisfun/
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Unexpected file format! Can't open your .fla.

    You would have to save a copy of your MX2004 .fla, (using Save as...) and changing the Document type to MX only in the Save as... window.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    Amazing what those decompilers will bring up hey!
    Poor, poor oldnewbie... Try to open macromedia nav_bar with decompiller (if you can) and compare it with my file. You'll understand (if you can) or at least you'll see that these two files have nothing in common except its appearance.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    What's with you? Had a bad day?

    The same delay is still not there!

    Happy X-mas anyways!

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    I forget to say that if you wish to increase the delay, you should just write in your number in the 31-st line of the code. Here:
    28 pod_menu(name_kn);
    29 }
    30 clearInterval(id);
    31 }, 200, this);
    Make it for instance 800

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Ya see, that wasn't very painful, now was it! That's all I was asking for! You should relax... It's X-mas!

  16. #16

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    I am always relaxing unless somebody tries to accuse me that I use the decompilers to look smarter than I am.
    I am unlike you able to make something.
    Have a good X-mas.

  18. #18
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Thanks Alon_tz! Glad to see most users here still have somewhat humble egos, and are only here to try to help out!

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    7
    Hey sergwiz,

    Nice work but a question. Why dont the submenu URLs work?

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    Not only submenu URLs don't work but main URLs don't work as well.
    It was not my goal to make exactly macromedia nav bar with working buttons. It was just a draft of some kind of the nav bar. I just wanted to show how we can make the delay.
    If we want to make URLs work, we should define these URLs and attach it to buttons.
    There is a simple example as how we can do this. Try it.
    Make a new movie and copy this code in the first frame of the timeline.
    code:
     arg = ["button 1","button 2","button 3","button 4","button 5","button 6"];
    urls = ["http://www.flashkit.com","http://www.flashkit.com/forum","http://www.macromedia.com","http://www.flasher.ru","http://www.flash-abovo.narod.com","http://something.com"];
    MovieClip.prototype.behav = function(){
    this.id = i;
    this.onRelease = function(){
    myColor =new Color(this.but);
    myColor.setRGB(0x009900);
    this.flag = true;
    getURL(urls[this.id]);
    }
    this.onRollOver = function(){
    if(!this.flag){
    myColor =new Color(this.but);
    myColor.setRGB(0xFFCC00);
    }
    }
    this.onRollOut = function(){
    if(!this.flag){
    myColor =new Color(this.but);
    myColor.setRGB(0x00CC00);
    }
    }
    this.onPress = function(){
    if(!this.flag){
    myColor =new Color(this.but);
    myColor.setRGB(0x00FF00);
    }
    }
    }
    for(i = 0; i<=5;i++){
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("obol"+i,i)
    with(_root["obol"+i]){
    lineStyle(1,0x99ff99,100);
    lineTo(60,0);
    lineStyle(1,0x000000,100);
    lineTo(60,20);
    lineStyle(1,0x000000,100);
    lineTo(0,20);
    lineStyle(1,0x99ff99,100);
    lineTo(0,0);
    _root["obol"+i].i = i;
    createTextField("tf",99,1,1,56,18)
    tf.type = "dynamic";
    tf.autoSize ="center";
    tform = new TextFormat();
    tform.color = 0x000099;
    tform.size = 14;
    tf.setNewTextFormat(tform);
    tf.text = arg[i];
    behav();
    createEmptyMovieClip("but",i+5);
    with(_root["obol"+i].but){
    beginFill(0x00CC00,100);
    moveTo(.5,.5)
    lineTo(59.5,.5);
    lineTo(59.5,19.5);
    lineTo(.5,19.5);
    lineTo(.5,.5);
    endFill();
    }
    }
    _root["obol"+i]._x = 50 +80*i;
    _root["obol"+i]._y = 50;
    }


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center