A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: movieclip moves movieclip

movieclip moves movieclip

how do i do this:

i am making a game, and i have a movieclip (a little man) that follows my mouse around the screen. basically i want to create the effect of a 'mosh pit' pushing him around as he tries to get through. i want it so that if he runs into another movie clip (mosher) the mosher will be pushed away from the little man. but i don't want the mosher to continue to move after he's been pushed. maybe just a few pixels at a time. can anyone explain how i would do this? or is this possible?

btw i am very new to actionscript...lol and i am using flash mx
    Last edited by Rowinski; 03-11-2004 at 03:18 AM.

Okay, I've implemented something that does this. It uses one movieclip to represent the mouse-controlled man, and one to represent the moshing people. You can replace those clips with animated clips showing people thrashing about.

I've attached the complete .fla.

It contains two movieclips in the library named "man_mc" and "mosher_mc".

Here is what the script looks like:

Code:
    // Moshpit 1.0.1
    //
    // - Jim Bumgardner

// function to control position of mouse-man
    function follow_mouse()
    {
    	this._x += (this._parent._xmouse - this._x) / this.sloth;
    	this._y += (this._parent._ymouse - this._y) / this.sloth;
    }

// function to control position of mosher-men
    function mosh_about()
    {
    	if (this.hitTest(mouse_mc)) {
    		this._x -= (mouse_mc._x - this._x) / this.sloth;
    		this._y -= (mouse_mc._y - this._y) / this.sloth;
    	}
    }

// Setup mouse man (or maybe just add him in flash)
    var mc = this.attachMovie("man_mc", "mouse_mc", 0);
    mc._x = 100;     // his position
    mc._y = 50;
    mc.sloth = 20;  // his speed
    mc.onEnterFrame = follow_mouse;

// Setup mosher men in random positions
    for (var i = 0; i < 30; ++i) 
    {
    	mc = this.attachMovie("mosher_mc", "mosh_mc"+i, i+1);