A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Copyrights, Who owns what?

Copyrights, Who owns what?

There's been some question floating around about copyrights, and who owns what in the designer/client relationship. This link might be of some interest.
    After doing some digging around, I've been able to locate info that debunks the assumption that a client is transferred copyrights simply because that client pays. For this to occur, according to what I've read (there are some exceptions), this transaction must be documented in writing. Now, before I get lambasted, I'm not a lawyer. To get a definitive answer about this you might want to consult your friendly neighborhood intellectual property attorney. After locating this info I thought I might be of some interest.

Former Employee of Satan Napalm's Avatar
    Thanks. Very good link and well worth the read.
    Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups

I've just spoken to my "friendly neighborhood" intellectual property attorney. In all seriousness, because I have been interested in getting a definitive answer to this question about copyrights I contacted an attorney. Just thought I'd pass along this info.

The main question is about "work for hire" and who this description refers to. In general terns, the "work for hire" description is reference to the employer/employee relationship. Any individual, employed by a company, receiving a salary and benefits, who creates work on company time forfeits any right of ownership for that work to his/her employer.

Anyone who is contracted to perform a task (in this case design), does not fall under the "work for hire" definition as they are considered an independent contractor. This being the case, designers in this situation do not automatically forfeit the creative rights to
    their work they create for pay; unless agreed to in writing by both parties.